top of page

A Little Life Update

The start of a new month offers us with a chance to hit a little refresh button, if we so choose to accept it.

I've been doing some research into why we say "pinch, punch, first of the month" and it seems it originated with George Washington. Apparently he would visit Indian tribes at the beginning of each month and provide fruit punch, with a pinch of salt. For my entire 23 years of existence I've said this phrase without fail on the first, but with no understanding as to why.

Nowadays though, as I try to navigate my way through this crazy world I want to try and use this phrase as less of an opportunity to pinch the closest person to me (although the likability of that idea depends on the person in question), but rather an opportunity to say to myself "pinch punch Luce, time to get your life together". How effective this method is with actually helping me get my life together is still to be determined.


Anyway, it is the 2nd August and the response I got for this months 'new start' mentality, was COVID.


One of the first things I did when I realised I was going to be in isolation for the next 10 days was order a chunky selection of books that have been on my wish list for some time now. Some of these well-known titles include 'Atomic Habits' by James Clear, '101 Essays That Will Change The Way You Think' by Brianna Wiest and 'Read This If You Want To Take Great Photographs' by Henry Carroll.

I have started my book journey with '101 Essays That Will Change The Way You Think' and I am in awe at the variety of topics that Wiest covers, and how she seemingly, so effortlessly offers logical solutions to subjects that often keep the rest of us up at night.

The layout of the book is like an exciting pick 'n' mix as well. You don't have to read the essays in any particular order, every other page is a new problem solved.


The one thing I would say about this book is that I found myself relating to a lot more of the essays than I thought I was going to, which suggests I have a lot more problems than I initially realised.

I'm telling you now I am going to come out of this isolation a changed, highly unproblematic person.


Another aspect of my life which has been shown some serious TLC since I've been home is my Spotify playlists. Organising my music library is something that frustrates me greatly, but only because I care so much. One of the main additions to my lockdown library is a playlist based around the Sydney based Indie band Sticky Fingers titled 'When Life Gives You Lemons You Get Sticky Fingers'. This playlist also features the likes of Spacey Jane, Mako Road, Tame Impala and Lyall Moloney.

Stay tuned for a music blog with all the possible recommendations from my music library.


I've started sneezing relentlessly again now, so I am going to draw this blog to a close, but please know I fully intend to follow this blog shortly with both the aforementioned music blog, as well as one addressing my recent dip in the world of digital illustration. Excitingly, I have project in the very early stages which means I will hopefully soon be collaborating with a new, local independent business with some photography and social media related tasks, but I don't want to say too much too soon!


Stay safe, and enjoy a picture of the bagels I recently challenged myself to make.


Lucy







bottom of page